TEXAS Mike Gullickson Burnet “A Promise of Music”

2008 National Senior Poet Laureate Runner Up Award Winner

MISSOURI Edwin S. Rice Kansas City “Supermarket Saturday”


State Name City Title of Poem
ALABAMA Donna Jean Tennis Montgomery “Melon Moon”
ARIZONA Carrie Backe Payson “Bouquet of Years”
ARKANSAS Marcia Camp Little Rock “Onions”
CALIFORNIA Harvey Thomas Sampson Santee “The Last Patrol”
COLORADO C. L. Farmer Arvada “to live well    live unseen”
CONNECTICUT Carol Leavitt Altieri Madison “Tonight”
FLORIDA Joan Cavanagh Manning Cutler Bay “Wishes”
GEORGIA Sylvia Sampson-Haney Stockbridge “Night Incense”
ILLINOIS Helen E. Rilling Auburn “Cameo of a Long Ago Spring Day”
INDIANA Alice B. Couch Noblesville “Victorian Bride”
IOWA Lila Borg Rohrer Victor “Ever After has its Moments”
KENTUCKY Barb McMakin Crestwood “Going Home”
MAINE Paul Averill Liebow Bucksport “When Death Comes”
MASSACHUSETTS Marian Kaplun Shapiro Lexington “La Tourists Sans Souci”
MICHIGAN Laurence W. Thomas Ypsilanti “Choices”
MINNESOTA Donal Heffernan Stillwater “Fear of Stepping on Small Cars”
MISSISSIPPI Dorothy Rogers Lucedale “Holistic Image”
MISSOURI Edwin S. Rice Kansas City “Supermarket Saturday”
NEBRASKA Robert B. Robeson Lincoln “To Steal, or Not to Steal”
NEW HAMPSHIRE Maren C. Tirabassi Portsmouth “There Will be No More Carrots”
NEW JERSEY Raymond Reininger Sayreville “A Room with No View”
NEW MEXICO Barbara DuBois Socorro “The Other Hand”
NEW YORK Vincent J. Tomeo Flushing “Refrigerator”
NORTH CAROLINA Jean Calkins Waynesville “Revelations in Fog”
OHIO Helen Webb South Point “Cancelled Plan”
OKLAHOMA Dena R. Gorrell Edmond “Beloved Grandchild”
OREGON Robert D. Hoeft Ashland “If Nature Held a Garage Sale”
PENNSYLVANIA Rodica Mihalis Wyndmoor “Eternity”
SOUTH CAROLINA Olga Warner Penzin Rock Hill “Uncommon Fellowship”
TEXAS Mike Gullickson Burnet “A Promise of Music”
UTAH M. M. Fisher Salt Lake City “This is Not a Love Song”
VIRGINIA Elaine P. Morgan Warrenton “A Study in Silver”
WASHINGTON Frieda Risvold Seattle “Fast ? Friends”
WYOMING Eugene V. Shea Hanna “The Witch of Lomax”